Home > Uncategorized > Here’s An Idea: Don’t Help Nathan Buy Firefly. Donate To Another Cause Instead.

Here’s An Idea: Don’t Help Nathan Buy Firefly. Donate To Another Cause Instead.

(Edit:  WordPress isn’t letting me add links.  Will keep trying, but until then you’ll have to copy/paste.  Sorry guys!)

I have to get this off of my chest.  It’s going to get me burned in effigy in the fandom, but, I don’t care anymore.

DON’T HELP NATHAN BUY FIREFLY.

I’m really fed up with this crap.  Here’s the line that got the whole Twitter-world buzzing:

“If I got $300 million from the California Lottery, the first thing I would do is buy the rights to Firefly, make it on my own, and distribute it on the Internet.”

And with these words, Browncoats everywhere lost their minds.  (I can’t even call myself one anymore.)  And I thought the Castle fandom was bad.  First, can I point out the language that he used in that statement?

First:

“If I got $300 million…”

If I remember correctly, ‘I’ means the person speaking.  In this case, Fillion.

Second:

“Make it on my own…”

We have to remember Joss is a busy dude these days.  (And rightfully so.  The man is awesome.)  The Avengers is going to be a gigantic project for him – it’ll be the first time some people see his writing/directing work.  He’s going to be tied up for quite a while.  Would Firefly be the same without Joss at the helm?  People were yelling and screaming when we heard Joss wasn’t going to have anything to do with the new Buffy movie.  Do you really want to think about a Joss-less Firefly?

And, I’ll let the writers at EW.com jump in here for a moment:

Buying the rights: $300 million wouldn’t be necessary. Terminator rights sold for about $30 million (and, as much as we love Firefly, let’s face it, Serenity was hardly T2 at the box office). Still, we’re talking a shiny chunk of change. Then the show still needs to be produced (= more money).

The only problem (well, not the only problem, but a significant one) is Firefly studio 20th Century Fox probably isn’t willing to sell the rights. The Terminator owners were bankrupt, while 20th is doing just fine and holds its properties as long-term investments (remember George Lucas talking 20th Century Fox out of the Star Wars sequel rights back in the 1970s? Yeah, they don’t fall for that anymore). One insider said he couldn’t think of a case of 20th outright selling the rights to a property.

The fan site is not accepting actual donations, just pledges (wisely), waiting to see if it can drum up enough support. Still, Fillion’s Lotto quote is probably being taken too literally. It’s one thing for the actor to say, you know, answering a reporter’s hypothetical question between takes on Castle, “if I won the lottery,” it’s another to be faced with the prospect of fans passing around the hat.

In other words: Even if fans miraculously raised millions, the studio is not likely to part with the rights to Firefly — if anything, such an act would prove to them the rights are worth keeping. However: Like all studios, 20th is generally open to new opportunities to make more money from its existing properties if given an assured path to profitability. Which brings us to…

Rebooting Firefly: This sentiment, one suspects, is more likely what the Firefly writers and most fans are responding to. And there’s few things more durable and renewable in media than a beloved sci fi brand. If all everybody who bought the Firefly DVD set during its first year of release (500,000 strong, according to one report) declared they were willing to shell out $40 in hopes of resurrecting the franchise as, say, a two-hour TV movie+DVD or something, well, you’d certainly get the studio’s attention. But that’s if the show’s very busy creator Joss Whedon and Fillion, etc. would be willing and contractually available in the first place, and that’s if the studio were on board — and those are real Ifs.

From:  http://insidetv.ew.com/2011/02/21/help-nathan-fillion-buy-firefly/

What is really starting to irk me are the comments being made on the “Help Nathan Buy Firefly” website.  Here are some, directly copied and pasted here, for your perusal:

“I would easily pay $50 per 13-episode season. I’d pay $100 for a 20-something episode season. If I could actually contribute money through which I owned a representative part of Firefly itself and would receive a return on any future action on it, I would contribute a few thousand bucks. Maybe $5k or $10k, easily.”

“If only this could come through, I will be pledging once it becomes avalible and it looks secure. Also should be noted I’d give a helluva lot more than $40 to see more of the ‘verse. In fact I think I may just start putting money away for this.”

“I will lay down my $40 and I will find at least 3 more browncoats to do the same. Its worth it. It will make the Captain smile.”

“They won’t sell that movie to the community, because that type of business is what people want, but corporations don’t. I’d like to be wrong. I am ready to put my 200$ into the movie.”

“I will pledge $200 right now if this gets off the ground. If Nathan and Whedon really wanted to do this, with our help, they really can. We have to want it bad enough, and we have to make others do too. I’m willing to do whatever it takes to get the Captain flying again.”

(Don’t even get me started on the mutilation of the English language going on in these statements.)

That’s $480 + $50 or $100 from commenter #1.  So, basically, that’s almost $600 from five people.  For something that’s PROBABLY NOT going to happen.

And I don’t agree with all those people who say something about how the Captain will approve.  You know what I truly think Nathan would approve of more?  Taking this money and donating to the charity he help to found; Kids Need To Read.

Here’s what Kids Need to Read CAN and WILL DO for underprivileged/at risk kids (taken directly from the website):

Kids Need to Read works to create a culture of reading for children by providing inspiring books to underfunded schools, libraries, and literacy programs across the United States, especially those serving disadvantaged children.

It has always been our desire to not merely give books, but to become an inspiration for childhood literacy. The more we grow, the more we can work to truly make an impact, not only on the children who are at the highest risk, but on all children. We have come a long way in a very short period of time. We have a lot of work ahead of us, but we have no doubt we will accomplish our mission.

Take your $50 and donate it to this worthy cause.  If you’re still saying “no” at this point, read this page, http://kidsneedtoread.org/testimonials.html.

And, even after reading that, you still say “No,” consider what your Captain said about Kids Need to Read:

Growing up, my parents managed to show me the importance of reading without cramming it down my throat. A difficult task, I’m sure. It breaks my heart to think that there are kids out there, ready to have their imaginations lit on fire, excited and wanting to read, and facing naked shelves in their school or local libraries. Rather than complain or wait till the system stops failing our nation’s children, this is a matter I feel we must take into our own hands. There are children, right now, waiting – wanting to read. What shall we tell them?

I support Kids Need To Read, because it fosters a desire to learn, the process of self-improvement, and the chance for children’s minds to grow. What will you do?

What will YOU do?

(Want to donate to Kids Need to Read?  Go here:  http://kidsneedtoread.org/donate.html)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. keith
    February 22, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    I’m glad somebody finally took this side. I’m donating to the group as soon as I get my tax refund.

    • February 23, 2011 at 10:01 am

      Thanks. They do some really good work there.

  2. Mary
    February 22, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    You really are brave for saying all this.

  3. ABCastle fan
    February 22, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    And did you see he said the same thing essentially about Castle in TV guide? It made me laugh.

  4. Love my Cap!
    February 22, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    you are wrong. the captain lived firefly and we need to get t back 4 him. it is right.

  5. dane
    February 22, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    Have you considered the opportunity cost of running this website? Just think! With the time you could save my abandoning your blogging you could take up a second job (let’s be reasonable and say part-time job) and donate all the money to helping children learn how to read! I’m sad I’ll no longer be able to read your clever blog posts, but I admire your strong sense of duty to the children.

    • February 23, 2011 at 10:06 am

      I think I’ll keep helping them with my full time job, as well as donating books to my local library and donating to KNTR when I can, thanks.

  6. Stephen
    February 23, 2011 at 7:22 am

    I do agree with your points about making sure that we do support charities, but the problem with the logic that you’re using is that it basically implies we should spend money on nothing but charities. In many ways the Help Nathan Buy Firefly is no different than going out and buying a season of any show on TV, it shows support for the show both by presence and monetarily. To say that by pledging money to support the chance of getting Firefly back they are ignoring charities is pretty much the same thing as saying that anyone who spends any money on anything other than charities and survival essentials is ignoring charities.

    Since Firefly’s cancellation the fanbase and community that has sprung up around it has been deeply involved with charitable efforts. Take Browncoats: Redemption for instance, it’s a fan-made Firefly-verse movie the proceeds of which are being given to five different charities. If anything, bringing Firefly back will result in a long-term increase in charitable giving as after the initial money raised the show would be able to support itself, leaving the donors able to give to charities and for the show, fan base, and community to expand greatly, opening up further opportunities to work with charitable organizations.

    Please don’t get me wrong, you do make many valid points, but the underlying generalizations trouble me, having seen what the Firefly community can do for charitable organizations. Maybe I won’t spend $800 on my next TV and give that to a charity instead, or maybe I’ll cut $5 a day out of my spending by not going to Starbucks and give that, there are far unworthier uses of money than to try and revive a show that has done quite a lot of good after its untimely demise.

    • February 23, 2011 at 10:05 am

      And I do appreciate your thoughtfulness. (I just wish more would think like you.)

      When I see language like “It is mighty,” or “the Captain thinks it’s right,” it just troubles me a bit is all. I personally do think people are taking the statement out of context, especially when he said almost the exact same thing to TV Guide about buying air time to advertise Castle.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

